Regional Profile

Southwest Alaska is a vast area that includes portions of mainland Alaska as well as hundreds of islands. The region encompasses four incorporated boroughs and two federally recognized census areas: the Aleutians East Borough, the Aleutians West Census Area, the Bristol Bay Borough, the Dillingham Census Area, the Kodiak Island Borough, and the Lake & Peninsula Borough. The combined area of the four boroughs and two census areas (including water area) equals 93,875 square miles. It is an area roughly equivalent to the state of Oregon.

    Southwest Alaska Land Area by Borough and Census Areas

  • Aleutians East Borough 6,988.1 sq. miles
  • Aleutians West Census Area 4,397.0 sq miles
  • Bristol Bay Borough 504.9 sq. miles
  • Dillingham Census Area 18,675.0 sq. miles
  • Kodiak Island Borough 6,559.8 sq. miles
  • Lake & Peninsula Borough 23, 782.0 sq. miles

    Total Southwest Region: 60,906.8 sq. miles