Economic Development Designations

The Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference (SWAMC) holds various economic development designations, which are conveyed by the State of Alaska and the United States governments. These designations include:

Alaska Regional Development Organization (ARDOR)
The State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development certified SWAMC as an ARDOR in 1989.

Economic Development District (EDD)

The U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration (EDA) recognized SWAMC as an Economic Development District 1992.

Regional Workforce Development Council

In 2005, SWAMC was selected by the Alaska Workforce Investment Board to convene the Southwest Alaska Workforce Development Council.